top of page

What is your predominant Dosha? What is your Prakruti (constitution)?

Updated: May 13, 2022


Start your Online Holistic Ayurvedic Detox Today!

Our Holistic Ayurvedic Detox is a home cleanse that blends the principles and practices of Ayurvedic Medicine, Yoga and Meditation and Naturopathic Medicine so that your whole self can be looked after and cared for.


The science of the Five Great Elements (Pancha Maha Bhutas) is based on the understanding that the energies that comprise all phenomena can be reduced to five very distinct forms, each with its own particular attributes and actions.

Everything in Nature is built from and contains all of the five elements. Our physical body and reality are created through innumerable combinations and proportions of all the Elements. Therefore, the 5 elements are normally referred to as “the five basic elements of matter” or “the Tattvas”.

These elements are Ether (space); Air, Fire, Water and Earth.

The Three Biological Doshas

The 5 elements combine and manifest in the body as tridoshas (Vata, Pitta and Kapha).

Air & Ether form Vata dosha; Fire & Water form Pitta dosha and Water & Earth form Kapha dosha.

The doshas form our basic body constitution and govern how our body functions. There are 7 types of constitutions: (Vata, Pitta, Kapha, Vata-Pitta, Pitta-Kapha, Vata-Kapha, and Vata-Pitta-Kapha). this basic constitution is formed during conception (genetic footprint from parents).

Our constitution is a combination of the energetic principles that define the doshas. We have all 3 doshas, but normally we have 1 or 2 that are stronger in quality and/or quantity. Balance of the 3 doshas maintains health; imbalance leads to disease. When Ayurveda says health comes from balancing your doshas, this does not mean you should have equal amounts of Vata, pitta and Kapha. Rather it means “maintaining the balance with which you were conceived.”

Your Constitution: Vata? Pitta? Kapha?

According to Ayurveda, the first requirement for healing oneself is awareness, the second is knowing your constitution.

Click here to do an online questionnaire to know your dosha.



Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page